2019 Annual Small Research Grant Recipients (pending federal appropriations)

Improving denitrifying woodchip bioreactor design and management through denitrification potential testing

– Dr. Laura Christianson and Ms. Mary Foltz; University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

Assessment of floating gardens to improve the water quality of the Chicago River – Dr. Eric W. Peterson and Mr. Emmett Spooner; Illinois State University.

Estimating Residential Hot Water Use from Smart Electricity Data – Dr. Ashlynn Stillwell and Mr. Joseph Bongungu; University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

Electrochemically-mediated adsorption systems for selective nitrate recovery: agriculture and the water-energy nexus – Dr. Xiao Su and Mr. Stephen R. Cotty; University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

2016 Awardees


Michael Eichholz, Southern Illinois University Carbondale

Identifying Wetland Inundation Extent and Patterns in Illinois

National Competitive Grants

The National Competitive Grants Program funds projects that address significant, regional water resources issues and promote collaboration between universities and the U.S. Geological Survey. Illinois researchers have been awarded seven of these highly-competitive grants since 2002.

2015 Awardees

Michael Lydy, Kara Huff Hartz, and Samuel Nutile, Southern Illinois University, and Amanda Harwood, Benedictine University at Springfield

Using Bioavailability to Assess Pyrethroid Insecticide Toxicity in Urban Sediments